Calling All Innovators, Leaders, and Heroes!

We have three new programs that allow us to recognize your district’s wins, but we need your help!

At the 2017 SDA Annual Conference, we gave away our first annual award to a member district. The Pool’s new awards programs recognize members that can lead and inspire colleagues in the realm of safety, just as the SDA awards districts and managers for their leadership in other spheres.

To that end, we have developed two additional award programs. We are excited to get all of them off the ground. Most important, two of these require your input and nominations in order for us to recognize anyone.

Below are details on our existing program and our new ones. We look forward to hearing about your heroes and initiatives. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us at

Recognize your district

At the 2017 SDA Annual Conference, we honored Clifton Sanitation District with our Safety District of the Year Award. They were the first to receive that award, but they won’t be the last. In fact, that award is only the beginning. This award will be given out going forward, enabling the CSD Pool to recognize districts with best-in-class safety programs, safety history, and safety culture.

Who’s Eligible>?

All CSD Pool member districts are automatically considered.

How Are Winners Selected?

The winning district will be selected based upon their individual loss history, the engagement and effectiveness of their safety committee, and on management’s overall dedication to safety and training.

How and When are Winners Notified?

Winners will be notified via email or phone, and the award will be given out at the SDA Annual Conference.

Recognize your team

The Safety Heroes Program is an ongoing, quarterly award program which seeks to recognize individual member employees for their efforts and achievements. Starting now, we are collecting nominations for this award from you.

Who’s Eligible?

Any full or part time employee, volunteer, supervisor, manager, or board member

Who Can Nominate Someone?

There is no restriction on who can nominate someone for this award. While this is an excellent tool for management to recognize employees, it can also be used for staff to recognize peers.

How Are Winners Selected?

We are looking for those whose dedication to creating a safer workplace goes beyond the ordinary. Winners will be people who make a difference at their district every day.

How and When are Winners Notified?

Awards are given quarterly, and we will notify the nominator and winner via email or phone, and their prize will be delivered personally by a Pool representative.

What Do Winners Receive?

Winners will receive recognition (photo, brief write up, etc.) in the Risk Management Review, and receive a prize such as a tablet computer, GoPro camera, or e-book reader.

Enough! I have ten heroes in mind! How do I nominate them?

Simple. Go to and put your nominations in today.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.